Best Place to Find Low Prices - Discontinued Gear

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Valley Finishes Third in NHSLL

Season Recap
The Tigers started the 2011 season with victories over Wisconsin Lacrosse Federation team Westside (Madison) Regents.  Minnesota Boys Scholastic Lacrosse Association members St. Louis Park (2010 champions) and Delano.
They followed this with three massive wins in conference play.  Losing by a single goal to defending Nebraska High School Lacrosse League champion Creighton Prep was but a minor speed bump.  Valley beat their next four opponents - including the team's first varsity win over Lincoln - by a combined score of 52-11.  When the Tigers met the Blue Jays for the second time, first place overall was on the line.  Unfortunately Prep prevailed, but Valley maintained third place in the league with their second win over (Omaha) Westside.
The Tigers met up with the Warriors again the following week in the first round of the playoffs.  From here, the Tigers once again drew Prep for the semifinals.  Hopes were high that the third meeting of the season would favor the Tigers, but First Team All State attackman Ted Crites was missing due to a back injury.  Spirits fell when the Blue Jays completed their sweep, again by three goals.  Saturday offered some redemption for the Tigers and a nice closure for the seniors as Valley defeated Millard West 12-2 for third place.
The Lincoln Rampage became the first team from outside of Omaha to win the NHSLL championship.

All State
Valley had five players named to the All State teams, as well as two honorable mentions.
First Team - Ted Crites (9, A), Dylan Griess (12, M)
Second Team - Hunter Couch (12 G), Hunter Levis (11 A), Tanner McDougal (11 LSM)
Honorable Mention - Ben Arends (8 A), Nick Harrington (11 M)

Roster Changes
Of the 25 players on the varsity roster, only 6 were seniors this season.  Hunter Couch (G), Dylan Griess (M), and Jamie Tornberg (D) have been with the team since its inaugural JV season.  Griess and Tornberg will be attending the University of Iowa this fall. Colin Mundus (D) and Dan Boyd (D) joined the team last season.  Mundus will attend Grand View University to wrestle.  Landon Loftsgard (M) joined the team this season.  Boyd and Loftsgard have not shared their college commitments.
At this time, the entire attack unit will return; all three (Levis, Crites, and Ben Arends) are on the All State list above.  Two-thirds of the starting midfield unit will return; both returning players (Harrington, McDougal) are on the All State List.  Freshman Will Tornberg is the only starter returning on the defensive end of the field.  The remaining varsity players, as well as the entire JV roster, are sophomores or freshmen.

Tribe 7