Best Place to Find Low Prices - Discontinued Gear

Thursday, July 15, 2010

World Championships Start Today

The 2010 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championships starts today in Manchester. The opening game was scheduled to pit the Iroquois vs the host England. In light of the scandal and its continuing developments, this game obviously will not occur. In fact, the Iroquois may not be able to compete at all. Losing the fourth ranked team and the game's originators is a travesty.

Tomorrow the big dogs take the field as Canada faces Japan and the US meets Australia. The remaining teams/divisions will play their opening games today as well. Thirty nations will be represented in this year's championships:
Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bermuda, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Iroquois, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, USA, and Wales
This field includes every full member nation, five associate member nations, and no emerging nations.
Associate member nations not participating:
Belgium, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Thailand, and Turkey

Emerging nations include:
Armenia, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Estonia, Ethiopia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Lithuania, Namibia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, and Uganda

Unfortunately no games are scheduled to be televised. However, you can watch the games online for a fee.

Tribe 7